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A Note About this Presentation

This presentation applies if you:

= Are a Navigator or certified application
counselor (collectively, an assister) in a state
with a Federally-facilitated Marketplace.

= Are assisting low-income individuals, families,
or children who may be uninsured or
exploring different health coverage options.



Overview: Medicaid and CHIP

Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) are state-
administered health coverage programs that can provide comprehensive
coverage for about 71.4 million consumers, including:
= Medicaid

» Parents and children

» Pregnant women

» Older consumers

» People with disabilities

» Other low-income adults, depending on the state

= CHIP

» Uninsured children up to age 19 whose household income is too high for them to
qualify for Medicaid

» In some states, low-income pregnant women

Medicaid and CHIP eligibility requirements and program benefits vary by state.



Eligibility Basics

Medicaid and CHIP eligibility
depends on several factors
including:

> A consumer’s income level

» The number of people in their
household

» Their citizenship or immigration
status \

» The state in which they live

Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) is used to determine
most consumers’ financial eligibility for Medicaid and CHIP,
including most children, pregnant women, parents, and non-
elderly adults.



Medicaid Expansion

Under the Patient Protection
and Affordable Care Act

(PPACA), states have the
opportunity to expand

Medicaid coverage to low- \ N

income adults under the age (
of 65 with incomes of up to

138 percent of the federal

poverty level (FPL).



Medicaid Eligibility Based on Medicaid
Expansion, Income, and Household Size

Number of Income below 138% FPL Income below 100% FPL
people in the

If your income is below 138% FPL and your state If your income falls below 100% FPL and your state
household has expanded Medicaid coverage, you may qualify hasn't expanded Medicaid coverage, you may not

for Medicaid based only on your income. qualify for either income-based Medicaid or savings
on a Marketplace health insurance plan. You may
still qualify for Medicaid under your state's current
rules.

1 $17,609 $12,760
2 $23,791 $17,240
3 $29,974 $21,720
4 $36,156 $26,200
5 $42,338 $30,680
6 $48,521 $35,160
6+ For each additional person, add $6,183 For each additional person, add $4,480

Note: These numbers represent FPLs for the 48 contiguous states and DC. FPL
amounts are higher in Alaska and Hawaii.



Knowledge Check #1

States have the opportunity to expand Medicaid
coverage to low-income adults under the age of

65 up to what percent of the federal poverty
level?




Knowledge Check #1 Answer

States have the opportunity to expand Medicaid
coverage to low-income adults under the age of

65 up to what percent of the federal poverty
level?

Answer: 138%



Benefits

= States establish and administer their own Medicaid and CHIP
programs and determine the type, amount, duration, and
scope of services within broad federal guidelines. Medicaid
benefits for children under the age of 21 must include the full
range of medically necessary services.

= CHIP provides comprehensive benefits to children. States
have flexibility to design their own program within federal
guidelines, so benefits vary by state and by the type of CHIP
program. However, all states must provide well-baby and well-
child care, dental coverage, behavioral health care, and
vaccines.



Out-of-Pocket Costs

Within limits, states can impose copayments, coinsurance, deductibles, and other similar charges on
most Medicaid-covered benefits. Out-of-pocket amounts vary depending on a Medicaid beneficiary’s
income. All out-of-pocket charges are based on the specific state’s defined payment amount for that

service.
Maximum Allowable Copayments Determined by Eligible Population’s

Household Income

Services and <100% of the FPL 101-150% of the FPL >150% of the FPL
Supplies

Inpatient $84.95 10% of the cost the 20% of the cost the
Hospital ' agency pays agency pays
Outpatient $4.55 10% of the cost the 20% of the cost the
Services ’ agency pays agency pays

Non-Emergenc .. .
gency No limit; must remain

U fth

>€ OTINE $9.10 $9.10 within the 5%
ETMEEHANY aggregate family ca
Department st vl
Preferred Drugs  $4.55 $4.55 $4.55
Non-Preferred 20% of the cost the

$9.10 $9.10
Drugs agency pays



Applying for Medicaid or CHIP

You can help consumers find out
whether they are eligible for
Medicaid in two main ways:

= Through their state's website:
Find state websites.

= Fill out a Marketplace
application: Help consumers
complete a Marketplace
application to learn about the
programs for which they may be
eligible.

11


http://www.healthcare.gov/medicaid-chip/eligibility/

Coverage for Certain Adults Below
100% of the FPL

In states that have not expanded Medicaid, many adults with incomes
below 100 percent of the FPL do not qualify for Medicaid.

For these adults, you could discuss the following options:

= Obtain health care services at federally-qualified community health centers.
Use the following tool to find a community health center near the consumer.

= Purchase Catastrophic coverage, which is available for people under 30 years
old and people granted a hardship exemption. Information on Catastrophic
coverage.

= Find out what pharmaceutical assistance programs may be available. You can
help consumers find out if assistance is available for the medications they take.

= Other coverage options, including short-term, limited-duration insurance.


https://www.healthcare.gov/community-health-centers/
https://www.healthcare.gov/choose-a-plan/catastrophic-health-plans/
https://www.medicare.gov/pharmaceutical-assistance-program/

Medicaid/CHIP and Minimum
Essential Coverage

= Most Medicaid and CHIP coverage qualifies
as minimum essential coverage (MEC).

= However, certain types of limited Medicaid " ‘
coverage are not recognized as MEC,
including coverage that only pays for
family planning, emergency medicine,
tuberculosis services, or outpatient
hospital services.

= Consumers with limited Medicaid coverage
may qualify for a hardship exemption from
the requirement to maintain MEC.



Exemptions Processing Overview

Exemptions are available based on the three-year rule, meaning consumers can apply for
an exemption for the current year and up to two prior years (2018 — 2020).

For tax year 2018, consumers can claim all hardship exemptions through the IRS when
they file their taxes.

In 2019 and beyond, the fee is reduced to SO so consumers only need to request a
hardship exemption (including affordability exemptions) if they are over the age of 30
and want to apply for Catastrophic coverage. If a consumer is under 30, they can
apply for catastrophic coverage without obtaining an exemption.
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Additional Resources

For more

information, visit:
= Medicaid.gov

» Available at: Medicaid.gov

= |nsureKidsNow.gov

» Available at: InsureKidsNow.gov

= HealthCare.gov: Getting Medicaid
& CHIP Coverage

= Medicaid and CHIP Eligibility
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https://www.medicaid.gov/
https://insurekidsnow.gov/
https://www.healthcare.gov/medicaid-chip/getting-medicaid-chip/
https://www.medicaid.gov/medicaid/eligibility/index.html
https://www.medicaid.gov/chip/eligibility/index.html

Complex Case #1

Lisa, a Georgia resident, has been without insurance but recently
enrolled in her state’s Medicaid family planning program. This program
provides family planning services to eligible women who meet income
requirements. However, this Medicaid program offers limited coverage
and is not considered MEC.

Lisa recently found a new job with a salary high enough to qualify her for
APTC on a Marketplace plan. This job did not offer employer-sponsored
coverage. Lisa met with an assister and enrolled in a Marketplace plan
during OE.

Subsequently, the Marketplace sent Lisa a Periodic Data Matching (PDM) />
notice because it identified Lisa as dually enrolled in Marketplace 3
coverage with APTC/CSRs and Medicaid that counts as qualifying health
coverage or MEC. The notice informed Lisa that her APTCs will soon end

if she does not take action. Lisa meets with the assister again and wants

to know how to resolve the issue.




Applicable Rule(s)

If your Medicaid coverage counts as MEC: You are not eligible for
a premium tax credit or other savings to help pay for a
Marketplace plan premium or covered services. You

should immediately end Marketplace insurance with premium
tax credits or other savings for anyone in your household who is
enrolled in a Medicaid program that counts as MEC and is also
enrolled in a Marketplace plan with financial help.

If your Medicaid coverage doesn’t count as MEC: You are eligible
for premium tax credits and other savings on a Marketplace
insurance plan if you qualify based on your income and other
criteria.



Applicable Rule(s) (Cont.)

In the state of Georgia, anyone who is covered by only the following programs is not
considered to have MEC:

= Medicaid for medically needy individuals who must qualify for coverage by deducting
medical expenses from income in order to meet the qualifying medically needy income
limit. (Medically needy programs are for people with high medical expenses who
wouldn’t otherwise qualify for Medicaid because their income is too high.) Many states,

including Georgia, have “medically needy” Medicaid programs.

=  Georgia Planning For Healthy Babies Family Planning Demonstration

= Some examples of limited coverage that are not considered MEC are:

» Family planning
» Emergency Medicaid
» Tuberculosis services

» Outpatient hospital services
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Applicable Rule(s) (Cont.)

= The initial Marketplace warning notice will request that consumers
take immediate action to end Marketplace coverage with
APTC/CSRs if they’re enrolled in MEC Medicaid or CHIP or update
their application to tell the Marketplace that they’re not enrolled in
Medicaid or CHIP by the date listed in the notice.

= |f consumers do not take action by the date listed in the initial
warning notice, the Marketplace will end any APTC/CSRs being paid
on their behalf for their share of a Marketplace plan premium and
covered services and will re-calculate eligibility for APTC/CSRs for
remaining consumers (i.e., other members of the household) on the
application, as appropriate.



Complex Case #1 Follow up

The assister met with Lisa again and helped her go back to
the application to confirm that her information was
correct (that it reflected that she was not enrolled in
Medicaid or CHIP) and upload the documents from the
Georgia state Medicaid office indicating that the Medicaid
she had was not minimum essential coverage. Lisa
submitted documents within the 30-day deadline in her
PDM initial warning notice and it was subsequently
resolved.

Helpful Tip:

Help the consumer obtain the supporting documents
indicating their enrollment in non-MEC Medicaid and
upload to the consumer’s Marketplace account to
resolve any issues as a result of the updated application.
These documents should be available in Georgia’s
Medicaid portal verifying enrollment in a non-MEC
program.



Knowledge Check #2

All Medicaid is
minimum essential
coverage.

A. True
B. False




Knowledge Check #2 Answer

All Medicaid is minimum essential coverage.
Answer: B. False

Most Medicaid programs are considered “minimum essential
coverage” or qualifying health coverage. However, certain types
of limited Medicaid coverage are not recognized as MEC,
including coverage that only pays for family planning, emergency
services, tuberculosis services, or outpatient hospital service.



Knowledge Check #3

What should a consumer do if they receive a
Periodic Data Matching notice from the
Marketplace?

A. Update their online Marketplace
application to indicate they are not enrolled
in coverage with Medicaid and CHIP.

B. Nothing.

C. End their Marketplace coverage with APTC
if they are enrolled in Medicaid or CHIP.



Knowledge Check #3 Answer

What should a consumer do if they receive a Periodic
Data Matching notice from the Marketplace?

Answer: A or C

A. Update their online Marketplace application to

indicate they are not enrolled in coverage with
Medicaid and CHIP.

C. End their Marketplace coverage with APTC if they
are enrolled in Medicaid or CHIP.



Complex Case #2

On April 16t, 2020, Joanne came in to meet with an assister
and reported that she enrolled herself in a Qualified Health
Plan (QHP) and thought she enrolled her 2-year-old son in
CHIP during the Marketplace’s Open Enrollment (OE) with an
effective date of January 15, 2020.

Joanne stated that her son was hospitalized on January 27,
2020 and that her insurance claims for his hospitalization were
rejected. She did not realize her son had been denied CHIP
coverage. Joanne did receive a CHIP denial on March 9, 2020.
Therefore, her son is eligible for an SEP for QHP coverage
because the CHIP denial occurred after OE ended but the CHIP
application was submitted during OE.

However, when Joanne called the Marketplace on April 15%,
2020, she was told that the effective date of her son’s QHP
coverage via the SEP would be on April 15%, 2020. Joanne
wants to know if it would be possible to get her son’s coverage
date set back to January 15, 2020 so that his hospitalization
would be covered.




Applicable Rule(s)

= Consumers may be eligible for an SEP to
enroll in a QHP through the Marketplace if
they:

» Applied for coverage through the
Marketplace during OE, or during a SEP for
which they were eligible;

» Were assessed potentially Medicaid/CHIP-
eligible and referred to their state’s
Medicaid agency for a final eligibility
determination; and

» Received a Medicaid/CHIP denial from the
state after OE or their other SEP window
ended.

= The SEP is available for 60 days from the
date of the denial by the state.

Note: Consumers may also
qualify for a SEP if they apply for
coverage during OE through
their state’s Medicaid agency and
receive a denial after OE has

ended.



Applicable Rule(s) (Cont.)

Such consumers who first applied at the Marketplace, during OE or during a SEP
for which they were eligible, have the option to request a retroactive coverage
effective date back to the effective date they would have received based on the
date of their original Marketplace application, so long as they pay any outstanding
premiums.

Every time a consumer applies to the Marketplace, their eligibility for Medicaid or
CHIP will be reassessed based on factors including their household size and
income, unless they attest to a Medicaid/CHIP denial by the state in the last 90
days, and also attest to no changes since the denial.

For applications submitted to the Marketplace that include consumers who may
be Medicaid/CHIP-eligible, some states make the final Medicaid/CHIP eligibility
determination, while some states allow the Marketplace to determine
Medicaid/CHIP eligibility.



Helpful Tips

= Remember, for Joanne to receive the SEP with a
retroactive coverage effective date in this specific
scenario, she and her son had to apply through the
Marketplace during OE and receive the
Medicaid/CHIP denial from the state agency outside

of OE.




Helpful Tips (Cont.)

In this scenario, once consumers have received their Medicaid or CHIP
denial from the state agency, they should update their Marketplace
application by checking the box to indicate they have received a
Medicaid or CHIP denial in the past 90 days, answer related questions,
and attest that they haven’t had any changes (as applicable), to see if
they are eligible for an SEP.

Consumers should never click the box on the Marketplace application
stating they have received a Medicaid or CHIP denial before they
actually receive notice of the denial. This is to ensure the consumer or
the consumer’s family member are not later determined eligible for and
enrolled in Medicaid or CHIP and dually-enrolled in Marketplace
coverage.



Applying the Rules to Joanne’s
Situation

Joanne could request to have her son
added to her original application for a
QHP, which was effective January 1%,
2020, but she will be liable for any
outstanding premiums from January
15t, 2020 to April 15th, 2020.

If she can pay the outstanding
premiums from January, February,
March, and April, the effective date
can be changed to January 1%, 2020
through the Marketplace casework
system, and her son’s hospitalization
may be covered if the hospital
providers are in network.



Consumers who receive a Medicaid denial
outside of OE are eligible for an SEP ONLY
if they applied for coverage during OE or
during another SEP window, and were
denied Medicaid or CHIP coverage after
OE or their original SEP window ended.
How long do these consumers have to sign
up for a Marketplace plan after they
receive their denial?

A.

B.
C.
D

30 Days
45 Days
60 Days
90 Days

Knowledge Check #4




Knowledge Check #4 Answer

Consumers who receive a Medicaid denial outside of OE are
eligible for an SEP ONLY if they applied for coverage during OE
or during another SEP window, and were denied Medicaid or
CHIP coverage after OE or their original SEP window ended.
How long do these consumers have to sign up for a
Marketplace plan after they receive their denial?

Answer: C. 60 Days

The SEP eligibility period for most qualifying events is 60 days.
This includes post-enroliment period Medicaid denials.



Knowledge Check #5

Consumers who qualify for an SEP to
purchase a Marketplace plan due to
a post OE (or post-SEP)
Medicaid/CHIP denial are not
eligible to receive Marketplace
coverage back to the effective date
they would have received based on
the date of their original
Marketplace application.

A. True
B. False
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Knowledge Check #5 Answer

Answer: B. False

If they originally applied at the
Marketplace, consumers who
qualify for an SEP to purchase a
Marketplace plan due to a post OE
(or post-SEP) Medicaid/CHIP denial
may be eligible to receive a
retroactive coverage effective date
back to the effective date they
would have received based on the
date of their original Marketplace
application.



Knowledge Check #6

In order to receive coverage retroactively,
what must the consumer do?

A. Nothing
B. Call the Marketplace
C. Pay any outstanding premiums



Knowledge Check #6 Answer

In order to receive coverage retroactively,
what must the consumer do?

Answer: B and C

B. Callthe Marketplace, AND
C. Payany outstanding premiums.

Consumers will not get retroactive coverage if
they do not first call the Marketplace Call
Center to request it. The system will default
to coverage that is effective per accelerated
prospective coverage effective rules. (That is,
coverage will start the first of the month
following their date of plan selection.)
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